Change of Seasons in Compressed Time

Marey, Pelican in Flight (via muhka.be)

Marey, Pelican in Flight (via muhka.be)

In some ways the opposite of the work of Marey and Muybridge, wherein what occurred over a short amount of time was slowed and explained in fragments, I have included below a video that compresses what occurs over a longer period of time into a shorter and more understandable timeframe. From what I believe was late October to mid-December, I photographed a tree outside my apartment window each morning, the daily images of which are presented here in a time-lapse that – because it has the ability to demonstrate long processes in a short time – shows what I would have missed otherwise. In this case, I have found myself surprised by not only the daily variance in light levels and shadows, but by the quick pace at which the leaves finally changed after a prolonged summer.

One thought on “Change of Seasons in Compressed Time

Leave a Reply

